Menu Close

Scholarships awarded to four students for study in Israel

Helyn B. Reich Scholarship

Scholarships awarded to four students for study in Israel

Contact: Deborah Fishman
Phone: 847-677-5949

The American Zionist Movement is pleased to announce its selection of four outstanding candidates – Zachary Bercu, Laura Finkelstein, Katherine Hallman and Danny Moss – who will receive scholarships to study in Israel. These students distinguish themselves through their passionate support for the Zionist cause on their campuses and in their communities, exhibiting great promise as the future leaders of a pro-Israel America in disciplines as diverse as medicine and the fine arts.

This spring marks the first time AZM has granted scholarships to students attending post-graduate programs in Israel. The Scholarship Committee now accepts applications from participants in the WUJS-Arad and Israel Career Experience programs. In addition, AZM has expanded the universities with which it is working to include Ben-Gurion University and Haifa University. Tel Aviv University has participated since the inception of the Helyn B Reich Scholarship program.

“We were very impressed with the quality of this year’s applicants,” AZM Executive Director Karen Rubinstein said. “We look forward to hearing more from them and to their future involvement with the American Zionist Movement.”

The Helyn B. Reich Memorial Scholarship Fund was established in 1995 in memory of Helyn B. Reich, wife of founding AZM President Seymour D. Reich. The initial gift in Helyn’s memory was given by Mrs. Sarah Fischer and her son Dr. Stuart Fischer. The scholarship seeks to recognize candidates who have demonstrated pro-Israel activity in their personal lives and show a commitment to future involvement with the Jewish and Zionist community.

“It is critical that the Zionist movement reach out to the next generation, to engage their talents and energy. We are so excited by the interest and initiative these bright young people are showing in choosing to develop themselves, both personally and academically, in Israel,” AZM President Jim Schiller said.

The deadline to apply for a Helyn B. Reich Scholarship for study in the spring of 2008 will be January 3, 2008.

Visit AZM’s website to learn more about the students, see their photos, and read a few words about their hopes and aspirations.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.